- ハイフォーム: プレーヤーはタスクによる得点とボード上に存在する伝説的ユニットによる得点を計算します。
- デスマッチ決闘: タスクは無い。プレーヤーは敵を倒すことによる得点と伝説的クリーチャーを召還したことによる得点と敵が焔を呼び起こすことによる得点を計算します。
各プレーヤーは6枚のカードを引きます : 3枚のクリーチャーカードデッキ、2枚の伝説カード、1枚の焔カード。
スタートプレーヤーから開始し時計回りに手番を進める。 各ターン、2アクションづつ行う。例外: スタートプレーヤーは最初のターンだけ1回だけしかアクションできない。
- 空いているマスに自分の色の通常ユニット1つを置く。もし置くスペースが無い場合は、you begin this action by picking up 1 of your common or heroic pieces, then place it as a common piece.
- クリーチャー召還 (下記参照)
- Discard 1 being that you drew from your deck. If you do, you may also return one or more of your other cards to the bottoms of their decks.
アクションはどんな順番でも実行可能。”配置”や”召還”アクションを1ターン中に1回以上行い事も可能 (しかし”捨て札”アクションは2回以上はできない)。あなたは全てのアクションを行わなくてはならない。 焔はアクションの前でも後でも発動可能（後述）。焔の発動はアクションとしては数えない。
デスマッチ: ターン終了時、破壊した敵ユニットにつき得点を得る: 伝説級ユニットは2点、 英雄級ユニットは1点、一般級ユニットは2つペアにつき1点。 自分のユニットの破壊では得点は得られない。ペアではない一般級ユニットは得点にならない。 また伝説級ユニットを召還した際に1点を得る（英雄級ユニットの昇格は”伝説級の召還”と数えない）。
To summon a being, use 1 action and do the following:
- Play the card from your hand and choose a square on the board where your pieces match the pattern on the card. The pattern can be rotated (by 90, 180, or 270 degrees). Mirror images and flips also count as a match. The pieces used to summon the being can be the same rank as those depicted in the pattern or higher rank. Empty squares are not important to the pattern.
- Place a piece of the indicated rank (upper left corner of the card) on the square indicated by the white-framed square in the pattern. This square may be empty, unless the pattern says it must be occupied by one of your pieces. If the square is occupied by a piece of the same rank or lower, destroy that piece when you put the new piece on the square. If the square is occupied by a piece of higher rank, you cannot summon the being. If all your pieces of that type are already on the board, you may still be able to summon the being by picking up a piece that is not required for the pattern and use it as the new piece.
- Once the new piece is on the board, resolve the effect printed on the card.
- After resolving the effect, discard the card.
Invoking a flare
You can invoke a flare on your turn before or after any action. To invoke a flare, you must meet at least one of the criteria:
- You meet the upper criterion if your opponent has that many more upgraded pieces (heroic and legendary) on the board than you.
- You meet the lower criterion if your opponent has that many more pieces (total) on the board than you.
If you meet the upper criterion, you resolve the upper effect. If you meet the lower criterion, you resolve the lower effect. If you meet both, you resolve the upper effect first, then the lower. Once the card has been resolved, discard it.
Resolving effects of beings and flares
No other action can be taken and no flare can be invoked until the entire effect of the card is resolved. Some parts of an effect may be optional:
- May indicates that a certain part of an effect is optional.
- Up to always includes 0.
Any parts that are not specified as optional are mandatory. If an effect cannot be performed fully, do the parts that can be done. When a card uses its own name, it is referring to the piece on the board that represents the summoned being.
- Upgraded piece: a heroic or legendary piece.
- Non-legendary piece: a common or heroic piece.
- Piece: If a piece is not specified as belonging to you or an opponent, then the effect includes any player's piece.
- Marked space: a colored space in the pattern. If the text does not refer to marked spaces, the colored spaces in the pattern are just illustrational.
- Adjacent square: one of eight squares sharing an edge (orthogonally adjacent) or a corner (diagonally adjacent) with a given square. If the given square is not specified, assume it is the square currently occupied by the newly summoned piece.
- Distance: the shortest number of moves required to get from one square to another. For example, adjacent squares are at distance 1.
- Move: A move is always onto an adjacent square. A move onto an occupied square destroys the piece that was there.
- Standard move: This type of move can be only onto an empty square or a square occupied by a piece of lower rank.
- Combat move: This type of move can be only onto an empty square or a square occupied by a piece of equal or lower rank.
- Standard leap and combat leap: A leap is the same as a move, except the square doesn’t have to be adjacent. If not specified, a leap can be onto any square on the board.
- Place: Like the “place” action. However, if there is no piece of the specified color and rank available, the piece cannot be placed.
- Upgrade: Legendary pieces cannot be upgraded. To upgrade a common piece, flip it over. To upgrade a heroic piece, remove it and replace it with a legendary piece. If none is available, the heroic piece cannot be upgraded.
- Downgrade: Common pieces cannot be downgraded. To downgrade a heroic piece, flip it over. To downgrade a legendary piece, replace it with a heroic piece. If none is available, the legendary piece cannot be downgraded.
- Destroy: To destroy a piece, remove it from the board.
- Convert: To convert an enemy piece, replace it with one of your pieces of the same rank (unless a different rank is specified).
When keeping track of how many enemy pieces you destroyed, count pieces you destroyed during summoning, pieces you destroyed with moves and leaps, pieces you destroyed with a “destroy” effect, and pieces you converted. Neither upgrading nor downgrading ever counts as destroying a piece.
The end of the game
The end of the game is triggered when a player draws the last card from his or her deck.
In High Form, the end of the game is also triggered if a player has 9 or more points at the end of any player’s turn. Count the points for tasks claimed (by the player or by the team) plus 1 point for each legendary piece of that player’s color currently on the board. (It doesn’t matter how the piece became legendary.)
In Deathmatch, the end of the game is also triggered if a player reaches or surpasses 18 points.
Once the turn that triggers the end is done, play continues so that each player gets one more turn, including the player whose turn triggered the end. Then the game ends. The player with more points wins. If there is a tie, the tiebreakers are, in this order: number of upgraded pieces on the board and then total number of pieces on the board. If there is still a tie, it remains unbroken.
These rules are extracted from CGE's full rules for Tash-Kalar.